Caring for Giants 🐘

By now we all know that Animal Kingdom is my favorite park and the largest park in Disney World. If you didn’t know that, now you do and you are welcome!

Animal Kingdom is dedicated to preserving the wild life. As one of the many ways to preserve the wild life, you must be educated. This education is provided by trails, safari and even tours.

On my most recent trip to Animal Kingdom, I took advantage of one of the many tours available. Let me start by saying that the tours are an additional cost. The tours range from $27-$200. My tour was a total of $27 (including an annual pass-holder discount).

I started by choosing the Caring for Giants your. This was my first Animal Kingdom tour and definitely not my last. I am hooked!

Provided in the tour is a tour guide, backstage access and up close and personal interactions with the animals. The tours can be booked via My Disney Experience.

The first thing you must do is book your tour 60 days in advance through the MDE app. once the tour is booked, you will receive a confirmation email and a follow up email right before your tour date with further information.

On the day of your tour, you will go right outside of Kilamarjo Safaris to the small tent. Yes, this small tent is not just for cute pictures! You will check in, sign your liability form and receive a badge.

Very important to make sure that you are on time for your tour and not to waste time. This tour I was on is only offered 4 times a day. If you are late, you miss opportunities and back up the rest of the waiting people.

While on the tour you will be going backstage. They do ask that you do not take any photos or videos, so phones away! That was hard for me but I did it 🙂

Once backstage you will board a van that will drive you past the animal habitats and straight to the elephants themselves. Now with any ride, trail or tour, the animals are not guaranteed to be out, so please keep that in mind! But we got lucky!

Once out of the van, you will walk a ramp to a private area to see a “behind the scenes” glimpse of the elephants. While there you may take as many pictures, videos, etc. as you may like while being educated by an amazing cast member.

You spend about a half hour to forty minutes with the elephants and learn even more information. After your time there, you board your van and drive back to “on stage”.

The whole tour is about an hr. It may be something you are interested in doing on your next vacation!

Leave a comment